Weobley, pronounced Webley, is a large village and civil parish in Herefordshire eight miles away from Leominster and the heart of the Black and White Village Trail.
It was formerly a market town and the village sits in the lowlands of Herefordshire, an area characterised by wide river valleys, intensive arable farming with low hedges, steep wooded hills, many orchards and hop yards. The village prospered from the medieval wool trade, and later through glove and ale making, its ale being of particular fine quality. Charles 1 stayed in the village following the battle of Naseby in 1645.
The magnificent church, St Peter and St Paul, boasts a 14th century spire 185 feet high and contains a fine marble memorial to Col. John Birch, Roundhead Commander during the Civil War. There are also fantastic examples of stained glass, ball flower decorations and a Norman archway.
In spite of the destruction of the market-hall and a large block of buildings in the middle of the town in 1943, a remarkable and interesting collection of timber-framed buildings of 14th to 17th-century date still survive. The most remarkable monuments surrounding the village are the Ley, Fenhampton and Little Sarnesfield, whose church contains the grave of John Abel, Charles 1 carpenter and the builder of Grange Court, Leominster and many other buildings in Herefordshire.
Please see Weobley in Wikipedia for more information.